Sisters Reunite!

19 02 2014

After all of my practicing… ‘Je voudrais un boîte de douze macarons,’ I got to Laduree and I froze.  Strawberry marshmallow, salted caramel, rose petal, coconut passionfruit, pistachio, praline, lemon, chocolate coffee…..?  How am I supposed to choose only 12 with all of these flavors? Easy solution I guess….’quinze macarons s’il vous plait’.  I just couldn’t leave without a box of 15 macaroons.  And, they almost all made it home.

DSC_0042

DSC_0045

20140203_063100

During my time in Geneva, I spent a couple afternoons just wandering the streets and looking at the buildings.  If you’re in a place for too long, everything can start to look normal.  Trams and cable lines, futuristic light bulb-looking light posts, french signs, and hundred year old buildings.  So after 2 weeks I kind of had to tap back into my wide-eyed wonder of seeing Geneva (and Switzerland) for the very first time.

DSC_0017

DSC_0046

DSC_0075

DSC_0090

This hundred year old building was my home for 2.5 weeks.

DSC_0010

My sister and her husband were my hospitable hosts and her cats kept me company at night.  Of course, I had my responsibilities while I was there: lift everything that was too heavy for my sister (a lot of things – I’m much stronger), care for the cats which consisted of entertaining them at 3am when they wanted to play, maneuver my body around theirs at night so as not to disturb their slumber, clean up after them when (not if) they were sick, groom them, clean their litter box…and play paparazzi and take hundreds of photos of them.

DSC_0411

Oliver

DSC_0356

Moosh

DSC_0532

And the most difficult of all tasks….keep my sister company = sit at outdoor patios and drink cappuccinos, eat truffle-topped cheesy delights and Chantilly cream and Nutella-laden desserts.

20140202_094020

Patelos: Cheesy, proscuitto-filled dough, topped with sliced truffle

20140202_102553

Mini beignets topped with powdered sugar and drizzled with warm Nutella and hazelnuts

20140202_102604

Baba: rum-soaked brioche, filled with Chantilly Cream and drizzled with Nutella and hazelnuts

20140203_040845
20140203_040830

It was a tough couple weeks but we made it through the longest time we’ve spent together in 7 years.  At the end of the trip we both agreed that we had a better time than we both thought we would, and we were equally surprised that she didn’t make me cry (not even once)!

20140203_041314

The Lee Sisters in Geneva, Switzerland

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 02 2014
Lissa Rabon

When sisters are good together…they are really good. !!!!looks like an amazing trip.

>

19 02 2014
tracilee

So true Lissa. It was a great trip!

19 02 2014
Deb Platt

First I’m so glad that you and your sister were able to have such a good time during your trip. Seeing the photos was really fun, but OMG… I think I gained 20 pounds just looking at those delicious desserts!

20 02 2014
tracilee

Thanks Deb – so true amazing trip but I HAD to come home to stop myself from eating all of the sweets. You can only exist on chocolate, pastries, cheese and ice cream for so long 🙂

Leave a Reply

