An Afternoon in Chamonix, France

10 02 2014

When I think about Europe, I think about how everything is so close to each other.  I grew up taking an hour and a half ferry ride from Vancouver Island to Vancouver, so I know that ferries can get you places, but they don’t usually get you that far.  My last trip to Europe I took an hour and a half ferry ride and I went from England to France – the close proximity just blows my mind!

One weekend we decided to take a quick afternoon trip.  From Geneva, Switzerland to Chamonix, France – just an hour and a half drive and you go from Lake Geneva to the French Alps.

IMG_8006

On the way I saw signs for Milan and Turin.  It’s a strange feeling to start an afternoon in one country, know that your destination is in a second country, but as soon as you cross the border there are already signs for cities in a third country!

DSC_0123

DSC_0125

Chamonix, France felt very French to me – for obvious reasons I guess.  You can tell by the style of the buildings, the conversations around you and the number of restaurants that are trying to tempt you with crepes, fondue and tartiflette (a classic french dish made with potatoes, reblochon cheese, lardons and onions).  I will say this though, we walked into a couple different meat and cheese shops and as we walked through the door I was bombarded by the shops’ smell.  Stereotype or not – it smelled like feet.

DSC_0144

DSC_0164

DSC_0157

IMG_8018

I definitely enjoyed wandering around the snowy village, dodging the skiers and snowboarders while taking photos of my sister and brother in law, who made it look like we should have been in Antarctica with all of their fur.

DSC_0259

DSC_0242

I did add a little bit of North American spontaneity to the atmosphere though – a little bit of a snow ball fight, which was more of an ice crystal fight.  My sister said it looked like we were dogs burrowing in the snow drift.  I did manage to make 2 snowballs though – both carefully aimed.

IMG_8024

DSC_0243

DSC_0246

DSC_0247

IMG_8030

And lastly, I tried to fit myself into a gondola car.  My idea.  At first I thought no problem, but maybe it was meant for kids or skinny french women to fit into because it was a feat to get both my front and my back through that narrow door.  I made it – and that was after Soup a l’oignon gratinee, des frites and a taste of the tartiflette.  But…..before the Speculos and caramel beurre sale macarons.

DSC_0198

DSC_0195

20140126_060741

DSC_0190

My last impression – the french sure do know how to display their pastries and confections.

DSC_0148
DSC_0165

DSC_0183

DSC_0261
DSC_0262

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 02 2014
Spencer Photo

Well done. Love the post and the photos!

12 02 2014
tracilee

Thanks! Took a tour of your site – you take some amazing photos!

12 02 2014
Spencer Photo

awwww. Thanks!

11 02 2014
Sechys Diary

Gorgeous , Stunning scenery ! xo

Leave a Reply

