Sights in between Eating

3 02 2014

I’ve become a little obsessed about these BARCINO letters.  I love taking photos of them.  I feel like it represents Barcelona for me.  So that means that I made my sister pose and take funny photos with the letters.  I kept yelling out, ‘go sit in the C’ until she finally relented.  The photo looked so cute, so I tried it too – and I barely fit – my torso is just too long!

DSC_0305

DSC_0566

DSC_0303

DSC_0308

DSC_0309

DSC_0306

We did manage to drag ourselves away from these letters and took time to wander the narrow streets in El Barri Gotic and ooh and awe over some of Antoni Gaudi’s other buildings in the city – Casa Batllo – an artistic legend with a modernist facade that mirrors a calm sea (although when I looked at it it reminded me of dragons and rainbows).

IMG_7907

IMG_7905

DSC_0251

DSC_0262

DSC_0273

DSC_0268

And what do you know, we found some more time to eat!  Back to La Boqueria for lunch, and this time we weren’t going to leave without saddling up to the bar at the Universal kiosk for the mixed seafood plate and some garlic razor clams.  The seafood was so fresh we were watching the gambas (prawns) move around in the display.

DSC_0327

DSC_0332

DSC_0338

DSC_0342

DSC_0340

After another tour around the market to take some photos, I found myself at a charcuterie stand, where I made a new friend that took his time to carve me a tasty treat – every piece was carved with love.  He was a great sport and even posed for pictures with me.

DSC_0362

DSC_0359

DSC_0345

DSC_0348

DSC_0350

My Barcelona City Guide told me that you can’t leave Barcelona without trying the Jamon Iberico de Bellota (acorn-fed Iberico ham).  The Iberico pig has become Spain’s modern-day caviar and this specific pig is able to store monounsaturated fats from the acorns it eats in streaks and marbled layers of fat that run through its muscle tissue.  After two years of aging, the flavors are nutty, buttery and earthy.  This specific type of ham liquefies at room temperature, so it literally melts in your mouth.  And yes it did.  Even my meat-disliking sister tried some and enjoyed it.

DSC_0355

In between eating stops we wandered around Barcelona taking random photos of each other – lots of sisterly bonding.  I don’t think her husband would have yelled out, ‘ride the lion!  Go ride the lion!’  – my husband probably would though.  I didn’t get a full mount though, the closest I got was her sitting on his butt.

DSC_0385

DSC_0396

DSC_0401

DSC_0406

DSC_0408

DSC_0414

IMG_7945

IMG_7876

After visiting the BARCINO letters one more time and while we were there, taking some photos of the Barcelona Cathedral , we waited patiently for the restaurants to open up for dinner.  Aside from tapas and very touristy restaurants, most places closed after lunch and didn’t open up again for dinner until 8PM.

IMG_7904

Just steps from our hotel we found Pirineus, a small family restaurant that kept us entertained and left us full of Cava and Seafood Paella.  They loved us there and we didn’t leave before we had learned a few new Catalan words, had our palms read, eaten complimentary desserts and had our cheeks kissed a couple times.

DSC_0462

20140123_115142


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

