Getting Back to Words

1 11 2013

Right now I feel like I’m living in a life of spreadsheets.  A life of numbers and formulas, of cells and columns and rows.  It’s been a long time since I wrote anything on the blog (sorry).  Part of it is procrastination and another part is probably because I compare my current adventures with my past adventures and come up lacking.  Last year around this time of year (end of summer into Fall), I had a writing hiatus too.  And the thing is, it’s not like we haven’t had adventures, travelled, experienced weird and random things and taken photos of it all.

Truthfully, I should probably change the name of the blog.  Not necessarily ‘Adventures on the Road’ anymore since we stopped criss-crossing across the US and living out of hotel rooms and instead put down roots and have called Seattle, WA home for a good year now.  We have packed away the ‘big enough to live out of’ suitcases and instead have a 2 – 3 day trip bag on standby at all times.  We may not have ‘Adventures on the Road’ anymore, but we still have adventures, and the reason why you haven’t heard about them is because I haven’t felt inspired to write the stories.  I haven’t had the post write itself in my head while I’m sitting staring out the window or lying in bed.  I haven’t thought of the perfect opening sentence.  In my free time, and I admit, I have quite a bit of free time on my hands, I have buried my head in spreadsheets, forecasted revenues, worried over expenses that just keep adding up, and also played stupid games on the ipad that take up hours of my day.  It’s kind of like I gave up on writing.  I embraced and leaned towards excel spreadsheets instead of Microsoft word.  But, I can’t blame all of my writer’s block on spreadsheets and counting money.  I also have used these excuses not to write, ‘yes the photos are nice, but we never made it to the top of the hike, so should I just wait until we finish the hike one day’ or ‘I can’t do a post about this trip now because we’re planning on going again with someone else and it’ll ruin the surprise’, or maybe the best (worst) excuse, ‘it’s too sunny in Seattle now to post because I wanted to talk about how it’s foggy and gray and I needed to revisit the sunshine’.  Lots of excuses.  Weak.  I know.  Excuses no more.

This past weekend we took a trip to Seattle’s Woodland Zoo with their annual Halloween festivities.  I had my eyes on the hunt for my beloved lion costume with the big mane, but sadly, no luck.  In exchange we were rewarded by antics by the real lion cubs and their mom playing with pumpkins.  And if these cute one year old lion cubs rolling around on their backs, thumping their back feet against the pumpkin like a cat with a toy, don’t make your heart melt and make you think about the time you held a lion cub in your arms and had lion fur on your sweater…..then I don’t know what will.

DSC_0215

1 year old Lion Cubs at Woodland Zoo

DSC_0216

DSC_0219

DSC_0253

Brothers

DSC_0251

20131026_143451

Baby Girl

DSC_0211

Proud Mama

And one last photo, which I think, tells its own story….and goes something like this,

Hmmpth, I’m not talking to you anymore.’ 

What did I say?  I asked you if you wanted any…’

20131026_151607

Spousal Dispute

Actions

Information

7 responses

1 11 2013
cravesadventure

Great Captures – love the Big Cats!!!

1 11 2013
HopeBetweenTheDreams

Been full of excuses myself :/

Those sure are some cute pictures!!!

And YAY about Seattle!!! OMG we want to move there so much I can barely stand it. We visited my cousin Lauren (whom I’d be more than happy to introduce you to) & her

1 11 2013
HopeBetweenTheDreams

And her husband Jason & they have two of the cutest little girls!!!

We just love them AND Seattle! It’s just awesome.

What more can I say?

♡♥♡♥

20 11 2013
tracilee

Thanks! Always happy to meet new people! LOVE being in Seattle – the mountains and sunshine were out today – can’t get better than that!

23 07 2015
HopeBetweenTheDreams

I love Seattle too! Must be a great place to live ♡

4 11 2013
Deb Platt

If it would help with the writer’s block to change the title, you should go for it.

Because we do posts about parks and nature preserves, I used to think that maybe we shouldn’t post unless we walked every mile on every trail in a particular park. But I’ve changed my mind. If I’ve walked 4 or 5 miles and the park has 18 miles of trail, I’ll go write up a post anyway. I figure that’s enough to describe what the terrain is like and the park’s general features. When I go back and try a new trail at the same park, I’ll just do another post on that park if I’m discovering new things.

BTW I loved the zoo photos and captions in this post. 🙂

20 11 2013
tracilee

Thanks for the words of wisdom Deb – thanks for sharing your writer’s block experiences too.

Leave a Reply

