Winter in San Diego

13 02 2012

As I bundled myself up with layer upon layer of clothes (tank top, dress, sweatshirt, scarf, winter coat, leather gloves, tights, socks, second pair of socks, shearling lined winter boots), preparing for a Sunday in New York in 19F (-7C), I wistfully remembered that just one month ago I knew what the warm sun felt shining on my face.

Even though there was a chill in the air during a trip to San Diego in January, it was still sunny, it was still flip flop weather, and it was still San Diego.

I’ve been procrastinating to write this post and put up some photos from our week in San Diego, but I just found my inspiration – COLD COLD COLD weather.

Welcome to Winter in San Diego:

Longest Pier on the West Coast

A boardwalk and beach still filled with flip flop wearing crowds (wearing a light sweater and a scarf for decoration), surfers challenging the waves and playing chicken with the pier pillars, dogs and their owners playing on the beach, skirting the waves, and then giving up and just committing to frolicking in the water, and a laidback breezy California attitude.

Even during a cold spell, the sun still shines and the water still sparkles.  It’s hard to imagine what the rest of the country is experiencing with snow storms, ice pellets, and a grey cloud cover that can’t help but make you feel a little grey and lackluster.

You can imagine my delight and surprise, when a walk along the downtown harbour, unearths this discovery.

The Times Square Kiss

A Vintage "Bob Hope" Scene

I’ve heard that people say, “wherever you are, whatever the weather, the weather’s always better in San Diego”.

I can’t say that I disagree.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 02 2012
Natalie

Definitely more than what I saw from my sick bed in the hotel when I visited. Thanks for the pics, now I know what I was missing!!!

15 02 2012
Abigail

One of the things Josh loved so much about Pendleton was being able to get in the water all year.

Leave a Reply

