Thank You

15 12 2011

When you sit down and write a blog post you hope that someone will think that it is interesting enough to read it (hopefully someone that is not related to you).  You hope that it’s not too boring.  And you hope that it’s not too personal that it makes people uncomfortable.  But mostly you just send it into the blogosphere for anyone and everyone to read.

When you have a moment of inspiration and you have to tamp down the excitement you feel after writing a blog post that felt like it wrote itself, you feel nervous.  You hesitate before you hit ‘publish’.  When you finally send it out there, you wait, and you check your dashboard, and you wonder why no one is commenting (even the people that are related to you).  And then you feel a little bit vulnerable, like maybe you said a little too much.

The ‘Dear Me: A Letter to My Sixteen Year Old Selfpost was my ‘I can’t wait to post this blog because I love it and it’s probably the best post I’ve written, but I feel so vulnerable because it’s personal and more than my  funny little travel stories’ post.  Considering how much I loved the post, I was a little sad that I didn’t get any comments within the first few days after I posted it.

Inspiring Sights

Coincidentally, I wrote that post while I was flying from Denver to LA, and the post was Freshly Pressed while I was flying from LA to Seattle a week later.  And the response has been amazing!  Three days and almost 10,000 hits later, I am overwhelmed at how supportive people have been to write comments, share their own stories and feel inspired enough to write their own letters to their eleven, sixteen, eighteen year old selves.  No, we don’t think that literary time travel actually exists, but we do think about how cool it would be if it did.  Writing this letter to yourself, regardless if it is to a younger or an older self, is all about reconnecting with yourself.  You’re able to remember the uncertainties and sometimes unstable emotions of your youth and also give yourself a pat on the back for all of the successes and obstacles you’ve overcome since then.  It is personal and it is emotional and I am touched that so many people were able to identify with my experiences.  Because, there really is no bigger frustration than dealing with a frizzy mane that you can’t control 🙂

So Thank You! to everyone that took the time to read my post, to ‘like’ it, to comment, to those who have become new subscribers, and good luck with your own letters to your past selves (or future selves), to the teachers who have been inspired to bring this exercise into the classroom, and to the 15, 16, 17, 18 year olds that connected with this letter and maybe have a little bit of a different perspective on the life they’re living and the future they have to look forward to.

Traci

Actions

Information

16 responses

16 12 2011
Shiva Ram

The catch here that helped your post is that everyone could relate to your feelings. Every person has felt the need to visit their childhood and rejoice them.
And most importantly mentor them on the basis of mistakes they have done if any. So I guess you struck a chord with the readers. 🙂

Keep up the good work. 🙂

16 12 2011
tracilee

Thanks Shiva Ram.

16 12 2011
racheldeangelis

A beautiful photograph, again, and I’m glad you were “freshly pressed” because I might not have stumbled across your blog otherwise! I look forward to reading more from you in the future! 😀

16 12 2011
tracilee

Thanks Rachel (photo was actually taken by an iphone). Look forward to sharing more stories with you.

16 12 2011
stvolpina

🙂 just stop by and to say ‘thanks’ to you for being honest and for writing such a nice piece!

16 12 2011
TBM

Congrats!

16 12 2011
Sarah

Your “letter to my 16 year old self” was the first thing I read when I pulled up the site. I decided I had to join if half the posts were as good as this one was. So instead, I thank you for opening up a new and exciting avenue in my life. I feel inspired for the first time in a long while.

16 12 2011
tracilee

Thanks Sarah. Just visited your blog – love the new years resolutions. Good luck with your writing!

16 12 2011
Lissa Rabon

I’m not surprised. It is a great read. Well done.

16 12 2011
tracilee

Thanks Lissa.

16 12 2011
cravesadventure

We are here and reading your posts. I know when I started my blogging journey I thought am I and my relatives the only one reading this and before you know it you have readers, commenters and subscribers – pretty cool:)

16 12 2011
The McLeans!

you go girl!!!

16 12 2011
Sinncere

I actually found your letter post on freshly pressed and it immediately inspired me to write a letter to my thirteen year old self. Like you stated it seems like the piece writes itself sometimes and I become anxious wondering if it was not good enough, if it had too much information, maybe delievered with the wrong tone. I wrote my own version of the letter and I provided a link to yours because that was the inspiration for the piece. I am beginning to wonder if because my past was so hard and gloomy I may have said too much… Not sure, but my past is what made me who I am and I do not feel like I need to hide it yet no one has liked or even commented on my version… Maybe I missed something, I am new to blogging and still feel quite intimidated and my confidence in my posts is declining because I do not know where to improve…Anyway, I know I went on a rant, but I have been your follower since your freshly pressed piece and I have read many of your posts. I like your style of writing, congrats on being freshly pressed..

Sinncere

16 12 2011
Sunshine

I loved your thoughts on feeling so vulnerable . . . said too much . . . how comforting to know there are others who go through the same mind jitters once the publish button is hit. 🙂

17 12 2011
kristieenriquez

I love that post! It’s inspiring. 🙂

18 12 2011
leandro931

I feel the fear. Will people read? Will people comment? Will people think something wrong about me?
My blog has never taken that amount of visits. The most visited day was yesterday, when a I post the memories of my high school, but no comments 😉
But I dont feel bad, I write just because I love writing, no matter if nobody reads or likes. The write is my art, my refuge.
I thank WordPress for put you blog at the Freshly, so I could read you letter and became a fan of you texts.
Keep like this.

Leave a Reply

