My Apologies

27 09 2011

I just read a blog post that sparked some feelings of guilt that it has been almost a month since my last post.  Especially since my last post was just a couple of photos (the underlying message being, aren’t you jealous that you aren’t going sailing on a Monday afternoon…).

Apparently when you have a blog you have certain responsibilities, like writing on a schedule, a dedication to your readers, and you can’t use the excuse of not feeling inspired or having writer’s block.  I admit, often I say to myself, ‘I’m just not feeling it, I have writer’s block and I just cannot put a post together’.  Even if there is a lot happening.  Like, for example, hiking the Grand Canyon.  Definite writer’s block.  I probably started that blog post three different times, but I think it was worth the wait.  Hopefully you felt the extreme pain, exhaustion and relief that we felt, once I finally felt inspired to write a post about it, rather than just the retelling of a hike, the amazing landscape, blah blah blah.  I guarantee that those first three attempts were just plain boring to read….because they were boring to write.

I guess what I’m trying to say, is I’ll try to post more frequently, even if the inspiration isn’t there, but I promise not to post boring things (hopefully this post doesn’t fall into that category).  In return, you, as my dedicated readers that may be disappointed with my silence, have an obligation to provide a little bit of feedback.  You must know that the sight of a comment, “like” or a new subscriber is like an instant jolt of energy, and a renewed sense of purpose.  Unless the comment is actually spam selling some kind of drug.

So read, scroll down, enjoy the photos, and provide some positive (or negative) reinforcement.   I welcome the feedback, I’ve gotten over my fear of feeling overexposed and vulnerable in the public eye (at least for the most part).  It’s been three years since I started this blog, and I will share a little bit of insight with you.  Looking at my stats, it seems as though most people find my blog because they are searching for ‘Ryan Seacrest’s car’ or are on the hunt for photos of Spring Break pastie girls in Lake Havasu, AZ.

Hopefully I’ve provided something a little more memorable than these two topics….

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 10 2011
Abigail

🙂

6 10 2011
Shannon

I found your blog through Freshly Pressed and I can totally relate to the excitement of a new subscriber or comment 🙂 Your photographs are wonderful and I have really enjoyed scrolling through your posts to have a look. It makes me want to save up for that new camera lens and get out there more often to take some pictures… we’ll see if the motivation lasts through the craziness of life, which always seems to derail me. Maybe I’ll just continue to enjoy yours!

6 10 2011
tracilee

Thanks Shannon. The excitement I’ve had all day today has been so crazy with comments, subscribers and likes. I’m on a blogger’s high! My fiance and I have gotten into photography the last few years, and it really makes you look at things differently, slow down and see ‘perfect shots’ all around. We use a Nikon D80. I hope you go out there and take more photos, with or without a new lens. But definitely come back and enjoy the photos of our travels!

7 10 2011
chinesetea2

There are songs that make us want to dance…But the best songs are the ones that bring you back to the moment you first heard them,and once again break your heart.

Leave a Reply

