The Rumours are True…

24 12 2010

I am officially off the market.

It took a lot of secret planning, patience, guts and a long call with my parents, but it was all worth it.  Nathan proposed to me in Little Italy in NYC on December 21st.

Nathan and I celebrated our engagement in the midst of the hustle and bustle of NYC with great friends, tasty food and bubbly drinks – we even had our own little paparazzi (Jonathan) snapping photos.

For all the crazy adventures that we have  had while traveling on the road, you can imagine that this adventure makes for a good story as well.  To share one of the stories, we stopped in for a celebratory drink at our place – Wolfgang’s Steakhouse in Tribeca, to spread our news and surprise some friends, and guess who was there?  Wolfgang himself (not Puck).  Nathan walked right up to him and told him we just got engaged and we were treated to a bottle of champagne and some heartfelt congratulations.

Vancouver.  Toronto.  Connecticut.  Minnesota.  Victoria.  California.  NYC.  New Jersey.  New Zealand.  Oklahoma.  Illinois.  Atlanta.  Halifax.  Detroit.

We shared our news with friends and family in all parts of the world.   But if you can believe it, the very first person I shared the news of our engagement with was not my family, or my best friends, or my coworkers but……..the bus boy at the restaurant.  I was sooo excited I couldn’t help but blurt it out as he was clearing away the chocolate lava cake and panacotta.  And the most surprised people to hear the news of our engagement, the commuters on the New Jersey transit bus leaving the Port Authority that fateful night.  As we boarded the bus, Nathan, glowing from the excitement and a bottle of bubbly, announced to the bus, ‘We just got engaged!  Clap it up people. Clap it up!’. I didn’t hear him say this (surprisingly) and I walked through a round of applause and shouts of ‘Congratulations’ from everyone on the bus.  It’s going to be a tough job keeping up with him, but I think I’m up for the challenge.

Thank you to everyone who has been a part of our journey and has shared in our experiences, our adventures, and our misadventures.  We are extremely happy to start this new chapter in our lives and to have been able to share this moment as a family with Jonathan.

Actions

Information

5 responses

24 12 2010
Alice

Congratulations!!! to you and Nathan.
Alice

24 12 2010
Sally

CONGRATULATIONS GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I’m so happy for you both, you’re perfect for each other =)

24 12 2010
Natalie

Congrats!! We’re thrilled for you! Can’t wait to celebrate with you in-person, sometime in the New Year.

Nat & Bruce

24 12 2010
Abigail

I’m so happy Jonathan was there!!

24 12 2010
Kat

I can’t believe you didnt email me! But I heard it from my mom today. Congrats to u both!!! I’m so excited for you!!!

Leave a Reply

