The BUCKET

10 09 2010

Going through all of the photos we’ve taken in the last month I’m beginning to realize that we do a lot of stuff.  I guess it’s all in your mind set, taking things in stride with a certain perspective that sees opportunity and adventure instead of obstacles and aggravations.

Like you could say,

Argh, we have access to all of this fresh seafood at Granville Island but our condo sucks and we don’t have the right cooking utensils to make anything!”

Or…you could look at all of the fresh seafood and say,

“Who needs to cook the seafood?  Instead of paying $2.50 an oyster, let’s buy a dozen oysters and a shucker from The Lobster Man and make our OWN oysters on the half shell”.

By the way, with a little tutorial from our server, we are now Professional Oyster Shuckers.

Then there’s the fact that I can’t swim and motion/sea sickness is not out of the realm of possibility.  Do we look at the 3 foot swells and our little Zodiac boat and say,

“It’s a little rough out there in the Pacific.  I don’t want to get sick all over the boat.  Bleh.  I’m starting to feel sick already.  We can always go whale watching next time.”

Or do you say,

“If I’m going to go whale watching, the closer to the water the better!  Schedule the whales – I want to see a show!  But, just to make sure, I better take some gravel pills.”

It was definitely worth the trip.  And it’s a good thing that I did take some medicine because I can happily say that I didn’t get seasick, although I can’t say the same for others on our boat….or deny the fact that we had to go in early because they got sick on the boat. Bleh.

And there are all sorts of things to complain about when you’re coming off of a 2 week vacation high and you have to go back to work,

“We are in the middle of nowhere for this stupid tour.  This is a waste of our time, there’s not even any cell reception.  Let’s just get this over with and get out of here!”

But when you take a break and look around,

“What’s that across from us? Oh my gosh!!  There’s a baby lion cub named King!  And you can get your photo taken with him.  Before I leave this place, I MUST hold a baby lion cub.”

And with the soundtrack of the Lion King in my head, I got my photo taken with King.  It was pretty cute, he kept putting his paws in my hair.  And, for the first time (and maybe the only time) in my life, later on that day I looked down and said, “I have lion cub fur on my shirt“.  It was pretty exciting.

Then there’s always the time when you rely on others to do a task that you KNOW you can do better and they SCREW IT UP!  Like being promised that you have a spot to park your exhibit for the biggest concert of the year: Jay Z & Eminem and finding out the day before that ‘they decided to go in a different direction’.

“I’m about to throw the world’s biggest hissy fit!  Why the hell did they even tell us they had a spot, we could have been working on this for weeks now.  Well, we might as well call up our client now and let them know we don’t have a spot because everything has to be blocked off and taken now.  And we don’t have time to get permits…”

Or just suck it up and get the work done,

“Better start making some calls – (Jay’s manager, Live Nation, Comerica Park, and the City of Detroit).  Let’s just push until we can’t push anymore. We have 12 hours to get something together.”

And wouldn’t you know that 12 hours was just enough time to get a PERFECT spot to park right in front of Comerica Park WITH all of our proper permits.  It may have been my proudest moment.

So, with my rose-coloured glasses on, and a world perspective that seeks out opportunities, adventures and all around cool experiences, I don’t think that I have a ‘BUCKET LIST’ (things to do in your life before you ‘kick the bucket’) but I do have a BUCKET and I’m just going to keep on filling it.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

