The Start of Something New

2 11 2008

I have been absolutely horrible about keeping up to date with this blog, however it is now November and I vow to do better…….really I do.

It’s been about a month since my last entry so here’s what’s been happening since then:

I was in Orlando Florida for a convention.  What convention you ask?  The National Funeral Director’s Association convention.  I know more about the funeral industry then I ever thought I would.  So the convention took up my day times, but I did manage an evening trip to The Magic Kingdom!  I admit, I went there in a bad mood, we aptly parked in the “Grumpy” parking lot, and as soon as I stepped onto the grounds I stepped on a piece of gum.  Picture this little asian jumping around on one foot in a circle yelling “get it off, get it off”.  Not a pretty sight!  I’m pretty sure that parents steered their children away from me.

I have no photos to share because unfortunately when I took my camera out, I somehow locked my memory card and wasn’t able to take any photos of the night.  I know, it sounds like I had a horrible time, but it was a trip back into childhood, I chased after Eeyore and screamed while riding Space Mountain (twice).  Very fun times!  But one thing was different, while riding the “It’s a Small World” ride, I thought to myself, did this ride always have such religous overtones?  “It’s a small world after all”….where we all end up dressed in white in heaven?? What??

I ended up getting called back to Detroit early, but not to worry, I enjoyed a “Staycation” right there in balmy Michigan that weekend in a random Bavarian style village called “Frankenmuth”. Picture cobblestone streets, clog shoes, people dancing the polka, caramel apple cider chai tea, and pumpkin bowling.  We also stumbled upon the largest Christmas store in North America.  Think about every colour of christmas tree, every kind of ornament and a mob of people with the mentality that it is christmas eve and they absolutely need that pink stuffed penguin, that just so happens to be in your hands.  Whoops.  No, actually I found myself quite enamoured with a green cat that looked like a watermelon.

I have been on tour with a pop up store for a clothing brand which shall remain nameless (not to worry, I’ll post a telling photo below).  We just started the tour and man has the schedule been crazy.  In 6 days I was in New Jersey, Philadelphia, Charlottesville VA, Boston, and back to New Jersey.  We followed the concert tour for Jay Z, so it was me and all my homies.  Yup, that’s right, me and the boys. I have been introduced to the world of fist bumps, shoulder checks, the “yo mama’s”, and you know, generally a culture that is a little bit out of my norm.  I know, you just pictured this in your head and giggled to yourself, and now that I’ve called you out on it, it’s turned into a ‘laugh out loud’ laugh.  Thanks for all of your support guys.

No matter, because I just spent the last 2 days in New York City.  I hustled and bustled with the best of them, experienced the craziness of time square, almost got run over by a yellow cab, had a street dog on the run, and ate the tastiest of New York Cheesecakes.   I saw the musical Wicked, which was fantastic, and made it to the Top of the Rock for the sunset.  Now the one not so sparkly moment…….I attempted to go shopping in New York for the ultimate pair of black boots.  Now this seems like every girl’s dream – shopping in New York City, well, if you have ever gone shopping with me….and some of you have done this more than you probably would have liked…..well you know, that this had trouble written all over it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

