First Things First

30 09 2008

Current Location: Chatham, Illinois

Where have the last 2 weeks gone?  Even though this is my first official post since crossing over that Windsor – Detroit border and waiting all of 45 minutes to become a ‘legal alien’ in the US of A, I have seen no less than 7 different states.  Mind you, I think I napped right through Indiana, but I say it still counts.

Rather than bore you with all of the minute details of my travels here are the highlights:

1.  I have discovered my new favorite chocolate bar:  Snicker’s Rocky Road, a delightful snack of almonds, caramel, marshmallow nougat all wrapped up in dark chocolate (Random truck stop in Illinois)

2.  The fastest way to get across a pool with 2 pieces of cardboard, a roll of duct tape, 2 paddles and 2 people is to build a big cardboard box (Tampa, FL)

3.  I found myself taking a replica of Queen Nefertiti to a local funeral home in Chatham, IL to repair a broken hand which was a casualty of travel (Chatham, IL

4.  During a pre-season game between the Detroit Red Wings and the Montreal Canadians, I sat up close and personal 5 rows to the ice to see a Red Wings player get carried off in a stretcher and a Canadians player practically lose an eye.  (Detroit, MI)

5.  I have now been introduced to the “Love Bug”.  No, it is not that warm and gooey feeling you get when you’re with that special someone, it is in fact the most annoying harmless bug that fuses together with a mate ‘bum to bum’.  The sad thing is, they live their entire life (30 days) fused together with a mate, but they die alone… (Tampa, FL)

And on that happy note…

Actions

Information

One response

30 09 2008
Matt

Traci,
Glad to see you committed to this. It’s nice to see you have a new favourite bar, as I’m sure the selection stateside is much more intense. Which was your favorite of the 7 states and why?

Leave a Reply

